skip navigation

Eleven finalists for 2018 Mr. Football named

By JIM PAULSEN, Star Tribune, 11/14/18, 12:45PM CST


The Minnesota Football Coaches Association announced Tuesday its 11 finalists for the 2018 Mr. Football Award.

They are:

Bryce Benhart, Lakeville North, OL

Matt Cavanagh, Edina, LB/RB/P/K

Alex Folz, Spring Grove, QB/S/P/K

Nick McCabe, Caledonia, RB/LB

Cade Plath, Chanhassen, LB/FB

David Roddy, Breck, QB/DE/P

Luke Ryan, BOLD, WR/DB/K/P

Treyton Welch, Buffalo, WR/LB

Brandon Westberg, Cambridge-Isanti, OL

Jason Williamson, Owatonna, RB/FS

Cole Woodford, Redwood Valley, WR/DB/R/K

Nominees for Mr. Football Award must be a graduating senior and their head coach must be a current member of the MFCA. They must not have any MSHSL violations.

Each player is nominated by his Sub-District/MFCA representative after being selected by the coaches in each Sub-district.

The Mr. Football Award was first given in 2004 to Nick Mertens of East Grand Forks. Last year’s winner was Antonio Montero of Eden Prairie.

The winner will be announced at the Mr. Football banquet on Dec. 16.

Football Hub Headlines