skip navigation

Trey Feeney of Moorhead is AP Player of the Year

By Paul Patane, SportsEngine, 12/17/20, 1:00PM CST


All-state first and second teams were also unveiled by the Associated Press on Wednesday night.

Trey Feeney (3) attempts a pass in a Class 5A state tournament quarterfinal matchup in 2019. Feeney was unveiled as the AP Player of the Year for 2020 on Thursday. Photo by Cheryl A. Myers, SportsEngine

Trey Feeney (3) attempts a pass in a Class 5A state tournament quarterfinal matchup in 2019. Feeney was unveiled as the AP Player of the Year for 2020 on Thursday. Photo by Cheryl A. Myers, SportsEngine

Trey Feeney of Moorhead has been chosen the Associated Press Player of the Year in Minnesota by statewide media who voted. In addition to Player of the Year, the AP also unveiled this year’s all-state teams Wednesday night.

The senior quarterback, who is 6-foot-3, 195 pounds, led the state in touchdown passes (36), completions (137) and finished second in yards (1,965), behind Hancock’s Preston Rohloff this year, according to stats submitted to the MN Football Hub. 

Powered by Feeney’s performance, Moorhead finished its fall campaign with an impressive 7-0 overall record, which includes a 63-7 blowout of Alexandria to cap the pandemic-shortened season on Nov. 20. Feeney, a University of North Dakota commit, completed 27-of-38 passes for the Spuds and threw seven touchdowns against Alexandria. He also ran for two touchdowns in the finale.

Feeney is joined by fellow Spud Brady Walthall as a first team selection. Walthall caught 14 touchdowns and had 797 receiving yards this season. Walthall caught two of Feeney’s TD passes in the victory over Alexandria.

Lakeville South and Minneapolis North also had two players apiece earn first team honors. The Cougars boast offensive lineman Riley Mahlman and defensive back Reid Patterson. The Polars, meanwhile, feature Mario Sanders, who was the voters' all-purpose pick, and running back Terrance Kamara. North also had a pair of players make the second team in quarterback Zach Yeager and Davon Townley, a defensive lineman.

View the tables below to see the selections to both teams.

All-state teams

First team

Player Position Team
Trey Feeney Quarterback Moorhead
Austin Freerksen Running back Byron
Terrance Kamara Running back Minneapolis North
David Collins Running back St. Michael-Albertville
Riley Mahlman Offensive lineman Lakeville South
Bastian Swinney Offensive lineman Edina
Tyler Magnuson Offensive lineman Wayzata
Logan Purcell Offensive lineman Annandale
Lucas Heyer Offensive lineman Hill-Murray
Eli Green Wide receiver/tight end Farmington
Brady Walthall Wide receiver/tight end Moorhead
Cade Kramer Wide receiver/tight end Eden Prairie
Deven Eastern Defensive lineman Shakopee
Garrison Solliday Defensive lineman St. Thomas Academy
Nate Becker Defensive lineman Maple Grove
Josh Franklin Defensive lineman Fridley
Nick Flaskamp Linebacker Minneapolis Southwest
Nyle Dickel Linebacker Minneapolis Washburn
Eli Mau Linebacker Chanhassen
R.J. Chakolis Linebacker Hopkins
Jake Ratzlaff Defensive back Rosemount
Bryce Lance Defensive back Marshall
Joey Sorenson Defensive back Spring Lake Park
Reid Patterson Defensive back Lakeville South
Noah Kiani Kicker/punter Irondale
Mario Sanders All-purpose Minneapolis North

Second team

Player Position Team
Zach Yeager Quarterback Minneapolis North
Emmett Johnson Running back Holy Angels
Austin Rasley Running back Deer River
Josh Schlangen Running back Blaine
Joe Alt Offensive lineman Totino-Grace
Sam Henry Offensive lineman Eden Prairie
Shea Albrecht Offensive lineman Orono
Jake Raines Offensive lineman Woodbury
A.J. Torfin Offensive lineman Hopkins
Kristen Hoskins Wide receiver/tight end Alexandria
Jamarien Wheeler Wide receiver/tight end Minneapolis Washburn
Cameron Anderson Wide receiver/tight end Blue Earth Area
Davon Townley Defensive lineman Minneapolis North
Marcus Hansen Defensive lineman Waseca
Colton Douglas Defensive lineman Byron
Chase Carter Defensive lineman SMB
Brayden Weber Linebacker Becker
Jake Klancher Linebacker Crosby-Ironton
Tristan Hoppe Linebacker Hutchinson
Alec Churness Linebacker Two Harbors
Tyee Leske Defensive back Eden Prairie
Ben North Defensive back East Ridge
Adam Tonsfeldt Defensive back Barnesville
*Edmund Ocansey Defensive back Champlin Park
*Trejuan Holloman Defensive back Cretin-Derham Hall
Leyton Simmering Kicker/punter Rosemount
Eli King All-purpose Caledonia

* denotes tie

Football Hub Headlines