skip navigation

Meet the 2019 Star Tribune All-Metro first-team defense

By DAVID LA VAQUE, Star Tribune , 11/25/19, 3:45PM CST


See who made the second team as well.

All-metro first team

All-metro second team

(seniors unless noted)

• A.J. Hunt, Mounds View
•Randy Keumogne, Tartan
• Pierce Oppong, Bloomington Jefferson
• Justice Sullivan, jr., Eden Prairie

• Jonathan Bunce, Edina
• Dacion Francis, Armstrong
• Anthony Gipson, Maple Grove
• Marcus Holasek, Chaska
• Garret Strating, Centennial

Defensive backs
• Steve Betts, St. Thomas Academy
• George Brekke, Lakeville South
• Kale Hoselton, St. Michael-Albertville
• Carter Patterson, Lakeville North

• Nathan Whiting, Rosemount

How the team was chosen

The Star Tribune’s all-metro teams and Metro Player of the Year were chosen based on nominations from metro-area coaches, conversations with a panel of coaches and staff observations.

Football Hub Headlines