skip navigation

White Bear's Bob Jackson retires

By David La Vaque, 12/05/11, 7:30AM CST


Longtime Bears coach hangs it up

Longtime White Bear Lake football coach Bob Jackson announced his retirement Sunday to players and their parents at the team banquet.

Jackson arrived at White Bear Lake in 1993 after coaching Spring Lake Park to a state title in 1991. He led the Bears to state from 1997-99 and again in 2002.

White Bear Lake activities director Tim Hermann said it was Jackson’s less heralded contributions that define his legacy.

“It’s always difficult to replace someone who has worked the way he has with student-athletes,” Hermann said. “There was a real love from Bob toward his players and that’s something not everyone outside the program could know.”

Jackson’s announcement Sunday mirrored his coaching and play-calling styles: no-nonsense, straightforward and more emphasis on substance than style.

“I’m told he did it at the end, almost in passing,” said Hermann, who was not at the banquet. “And I’m told he got a standing ovation. He wasn’t comfortable with it but it was deserved.”

Hermann said he would like to find a new football coach by spring and believes the program should attract its share of interest.

“That’s my hope,” Hermann said. “We play in a great conference, we have a great history and Bob built a great program. I’m hoping we get a mix of young assistants who have been coordinators and head coaches who see this as a step up.”

Coaching Changes entering 2012 season

Alden-Conger Nick Willaert TBD
Austin Matt Schmit Brett Vesel
Bagley Andrew Brouwer Brandon Schwegel
Barnum Kevin Haley Brian Robertson
Blaine Shannon Gerrety Tom Develich
Brandon/Evansville Greg Lanners
Mike Quist
Tim Pattrin
Carlton Dennis Korman TBD
Duluth Marshall David Homstad Jim Hogan
Little Falls Aaron Sinclair Jay DeCann
Walker-Hackensack-Akeley-Laporte N/A Aaron Pfeiffer
Mankato East Dave Frisell Eric Davis
Minneapolis Patrick Henry John Swain Mark Heiser
Minnehaha Academy Jordan Baynard
Brandon Norberg
Mound-Westonka Kyle Inforzata Barry Bower
New Ulm Rob Bute Anthony Ortmann
Pine Island Tom Krambeer John Stapleton
Rochester Mayo Kevin Landherr Donny Holcomb
Sartell-St. Stephen John Ross Scott Hentges
St. James Lee Carlson Jeff Whitney
St. Paul Academy/Mounds Park Academy Mark Heiser Ed Perrault
Wadena-Deer Creek Tom VanErp Howie Kangas
Walker-Hackensack-Akeley Pete Naugle Aaron Pfeiffer
White Bear Lake Bob Jackson Ryan Bartlett

Related Stories