skip navigation

Rosemount’s Jake Ratzlaff is selected Mr. Football

By JIM PAULSEN, Star Tribune, 02/21/21, 7:00PM CST


Strong on both sides of the line of scrimmage, he has committed to Wisconsin.

Rosemount's Jake Ratzlaff in action against Champlin Park last fall. Photo by Korey McDermott, SportsEngine

The Minnesota Football Coaches Association on Sunday named Rosemount senior strong safety/linebacker/tight end Jake Ratzlaff Mr. Football for 2020 at a Mr. Football banquet that was held virtually.

The hard-hitting Ratzlaff had 70 tackles, 5½ tackles for loss, three sacks, three interceptions and two fumble recoveries in leading the Irish to a 6-0 record in an abbreviated season. He added 10 catches, three for touchdowns, for 209 yards receiving and blocked three punts on special teams.

For his career, Ratzlaff finished with 261½ tackles, 28½ for loss, and 10½ sacks, five fumble recoveries, three interceptions and 33 receptions for 714 yards and eight touchdowns.

Ratzlaff, who was also named the 2020 Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year and Associated Press Player of the Year, had committed following his sophomore year to play hockey for the University of Minnesota. But his exceptional football talents caught the eyes of college recruiters and he began to edge away from his hockey commitment, saying football was his greatest passion.

“I just love everything about football,” he told the Star Tribune in November. “There are only two things I love more: God and my family.”

He committed to Wisconsin last fall, ending a recruiting battle between the Badgers and the Gophers for his services.

“I have never seen one player impact a game in so many different ways,” Rosemount coach Jeff Erdmann said in a news release from the MFCA. “He could start for us at any position offensively or defensively. He could have been our starting QB, offensive tackle or even nose guard because of his athleticism, aggressiveness, and style of play.”

Ratzlaff is the 17th winner of the Mr. Football award, which was established in 2004. Jalen Suggs of SMB Wolfpack (Minnehaha Academy) was the 2019 winner.

Football Hub Headlines