skip navigation

Mr. Football finalists named

11/20/2011, 4:17pm CST
By David La Vaque

10 seniors from across the state chosen


The 2011 Minnesota Mr. Football Award winner will be named at the Mr. Football banquet at noon on Dec. 11 at the Doubletree Hotel in St. Louis Park.
The 10 finalists for the 2011 Mr. Football Award, as selected by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA), are:
Beau Bofferding, Marshall, RB/DB, Southwest Conference
Jonathan Harden, Cretin-DH, DT, Suburban East Conference
Trey Heid, Lakeville North, QB, South Suburban Conference
Andrew Larson, Eden Prairie, RB, Lake Conference
Andre McDonald, Hopkins, WR, Lake Conference
Nate Meyer, Rocori, QB/DB, Central Lakes Conference
Phillip Nelson, Mankato West, QB, Big 9 Conference
Jonah Pirsig, Blue Earth Area, OT/DT, South Central Conference
Sam Sura, South St. Paul, RB/LB, Classic Suburban Conference
Tyler Vaughan, QB/S, Braham, Great Polar Conference


A finalist must be a graduating senior without any Minnesota State High School League violations that came from a program whose head coach is a current member of the MFCA. Players must be nominated by their conference/MFCA representative.
Past winners:
2010 - Peter Westerhaus Holy Family Catholic
2009 - Zach Vraa, Rosemount
2008 - Varmah Sonie, Apple Valley
2007 - Michael Floyd, Cretin-Derham Hall
2006 - Blake Sorensen, Eden Prairie
2005 - Matt Carufel, Cretin-Derham Hall
2004 - Nick Mertens, East Grand Forks


Related Stories

Tag(s): Star Tribune